Merriwa Primary Schools Board

Merriwa Primary Schools Board is a joint Board and was established in 2017 following Merriwa Primary School and the Merriwa Education Support Centre gaining the status of Independent Public Schools. An advantage of being Independent Public Schools is that Merriwa Primary Schools established a school Board that is representative of the school community including staff, parents and school partners. The Board supports the schools in many ways, providing the expertise of its diverse membership to create and foster exciting opportunities for the schools. The School Board is playing a major role in the accountability of Merriwa Primary Schools and represents the values and aspirations of our school community. Through the strong leadership and support of the Board, our schools are enhancing the educational opportunities of our students. The Board also assists and supports staff and parents to strive for the very best for our schools.

Functions of the Board: The functions of the Board are as provided in Section 128 of the School Education Act 1999 and include:

- A focus on improving learning outcomes for all students
- A shared vision and a plan reflecting the broad values of the school community
- Active involvement in endorsing the School's Delivery and Performance Agreement, Budgets, Business Plans and Annual Report.
- Monitoring progress towards the achievement of goals
- Promoting meaningful parent and community participation and actively seeking the views of its school community.
- Determining student codes of conduct
- Determining the student dress code
- Deciding on issues related to charges and contributions, extra cost options, advertising and Sponsorship
- An advocacy role to enhance the operations of Merriwa Primary Schools the Board meets at least four times per year and one of these meetings is a public meeting to which the school community is invited. The Board also holds workshops for Board members to review the success and quality of the programs offered within the school.

School Board Representatives 2023

Chair: Caroline Bishop

Principals: Sue Waterhouse, Karen Macri

Staff: Allison Ebert, Joanne Dorney, Erika Hanekom, Sharon Hogan

Parents: Tanya Lang, Jodie Teasdale, Miki Saegusa

Community: John Ward, Kristina Lemson

Co-Opted Community: Janice Griffiths, Carolyn Gerrans